Weekly Workout Recap No. 3 and Amazing Grace 5K Recap

IMG_5657

Hello, Friends! It’s time for another weekly recap hosted by Run Megan Run. Click on over to join in the fun! (<— I should quit my day job to become a poet.)

April 11-16

Monday | Rest or 3 Miles Easy

Monday was the first day back at school from Spring Break, and I was feeling about as exhausted as I expected after work. Jeff also left Monday morning to go to California for work for the week, so I was just feeling super unmotivated. I worked a bit on the house/yard for my Aunt’s visit the next day and contemplated life on the couch, because I’m a teacher and it’s April.

Tuesday | 5 miles

My Aunt came down Tuesday after work for a quick visit, so I headed out around dinnertime for my run around the neighborhood. I had to cut this one short, though, because we had a thunderstorm in the forecast and it looked seriously threatening about halfway through. I brought my phone with me and didn’t want it to get soaked, so I booked it home. I guess that’s one way to pick up the pace! This was my fastest 5k yet. Too bad it wasn’t in a race!

3.12 miles; 27.27; 8:50 pace (!!!) 

Wednesday | 3 miles–speedwork

Since I was short on Tuesday’s miles, I decided to get 5 in on Wednesday after our faculty meeting. Again, I was really pleased with my pace. I’m not sure if it had something to do with it being testing season at school, or if I was just bored with Jeff being gone, but it’s like everything clicked this week.

5.01 miles; 45:26; 9:04 pace

Thursday and Friday | Rest

I spent these two days catching up on paperwork for school, wedding planning, and getting chores done so I wouldn’t have to worry about them over the weekend. I may have been taking advantage of “tapering” for the trail 5K I ran on Saturday, but oh well. It seems to have worked in my favor. 🙂

Saturday | Amazing Grace 5K Trail Race

I decided to run this race because it’s part of a new three-part race series in Aiken (next will be the Run United Half and Triple Crown 10-Miler). Runners who participate in all three will receive a special prize, which I hear is supposed to be a really nice shirt. We’ll see. 🙂 This was the first race I went to by myself, as Jeff didn’t get home until Saturday night. I hadn’t run this trail before, but it was so beautiful! I got some quick pictures on my phone before and after, but they won’t download to my computer for some reason. 😦 Anyway, it wasn’t a huge race, but it was very well put together. I really enjoyed the trails and it helped that the organizers spray painted all of the protruding roots bright orange. 😉 I wanted to really push myself this race since I rested two days beforehand. It worked! I forgot to turn off my watch (again), so I’m showing a total distance of 3.14 miles in 29:02. It wasn’t close to my goal 5k for this year of 27:00, but the fact that it was on a trail makes me completely fine with this. I actually ended up taking first in females 20-29! My new runner friend Missy (who is a total beast) also took first in her division.

12994313_10153803505233192_6102354797539857470_n12983374_895816310546743_8901679455968560893_o

I’m not sure how I did overall–the results haven’t been posted yet. However, this is definitely a race I’ll plan to do again next year.

I’m officially two weeks out from my next half and I’m feeling really optimistic about my 2:10 goal (my goal for the year, actually). I ordered a new outfit for it last night online, which we all know is almost a guarantee of a PR. Right? I have no hopes of placing in this race, as last year’s runners were absolutely amazing. There is something comforting about knowing I don’t have a chance at competing against the other runners, because it will allow me to focus completely on bettering myself. I’m so excited! Hopefully, I will fit in 100 miles this month for the first time EVER. I’m up to 58.1 as of today, which is a pretty big thing for me, especially balanced with work and wedding planning (and, of course, my fur babies).

Here’s to another week of running in this BEAUTIFUL spring weather!

Blog signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Workout Recap No. 3 and Amazing Grace 5K Recap

  1. Pingback: When a Training Run Becomes a Race – the planning fairy:

  2. Pingback: Weekly Workout Recap No. 4 | the planning fairy

Leave a Reply

