Race Recap: Augusta University Half Marathon

And another race is in the books! I was really nervous going into half marathon #2 this morning, but I ended up having a blast (minus the hills).

IMG_0636.JPG

So, why was I nervous in the first place?

  1. The race elevation I talked about here last week.
  2. My knee has been feeling a little creaky since my last long run a couple of weeks ago.
  3. I signed up late for this race–about 9 weeks out after not running since the Thanksgiving half.

The day started early to head down to Augusta in order to have time to park. It was COLD this morning! I learned my lesson after my first half and didn’t worry about being cold as much during the race–which meant I froze at the starting line. Jeff and Lady dropped me off at the start and we set out at around 8:15.

The first five miles of the race were bliss. I cruised right along solidly under 9:30 up until mile six when the hill of crushed dreams began (not kidding). The one thing keeping me going on this monster was knowing my pep team were waiting at the top.

IMG_0618IMG_0619

Anddddd once that experience was finally over a little before mile 8, it was back to smooth sailing…. until beast #2 right before mile 10. This one wasn’t nearly as bad, but I was still slowing. Luckily, the runner camaraderie was going strong at this point. I ran for a little while with an older man who gave me some much-needed inspiration before passing me. I ended up passing him right before the finish, but not before he told me he knew I could do it. Aw!

image1 (2)

I ended up finishing in 2:11:14, five minutes and nineteen seconds faster than the Atlanta Half. I am extremely pleased considering that I needed to stop and walk a couple of the hills. My next big race will be the Run United Half Marathon in Aiken on April 30 with a goal time of 2:10. This course is very flat, so I’m feeling confident about this one.

IMG_0634

Now it’s time for a few days to rest before getting back into a schedule to prepare for the Aiken half. I have a handful of 5ks in between now and then thrown in for fun.

Oh, and if you’re having a bad day, check out the Pillsbury Doughboy that Jeff spotted today on the course!

IMG_0614Blog signature

Leave a Reply

