Monday Catch-Up

I’m feeling super productive today. Which is weird for two reasons. One, it’s Monday. Two, I had a slight meltdown this morning about not having centers prepared and a premonition that the district was coming to observe me (neither of which actually happened). So, I was basically WonderWoman during planning and for about an hour after the kids left. Here’s what today looked like:

FullSizeRender (30)

You know it’s going to be a good day when you get to wear a cute outfit you haven’t worn recently. Fall, I am embracing you with OPEN ARMS today. PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE ME. Seriously, though, the fact that I got to sleep with my windows open and that I could wear a scarf and not suffer from heat exhaustion makes my heart happy. So, a little #teacherstyleootd for you.

FullSizeRender (32)

This week, we’re starting our adjectives unit. It could be that premonition I mentioned earlier, but I had a random inspiration this morning to write different types of adjectives (colors, sizes, numbers, and emotions) on index cards and stick them under each student’s desk. They LOVED it! It was a great way to build background knowledge for them and get them moving around. I color-coded the words by what kind of adjective they are, so tomorrow we will sort them as a quick review/warmup.

FullSizeRender (34)

I’m not sure why that picture is so blurry. Oh well. Our classroom snapshots board is a place for hot topic anchor charts and student work. I took down our August work samples (character-building activities that went along with Chrysanthemum), and put up grammar anchor charts from the past couple of weeks along with our writing project from last week (How to Make Apple Pie booklets). I wrote my feedback for the booklets on a writing rubric (available here for free!) because I like to keep that private for each student. The kiddos worked so incredibly hard on their books, and they got to share them on Friday during our Grandparents’ Day celebration. Fun!

FullSizeRender (33)

Operation: Apple continues this week with a Science/Social Studies/Math integrated unit. Tomorrow, we’ll be reading Ten Apples Up on Top! and using the apples above to measure each other. Today, we talked about producers and consumers using apples. Because it is fall and apples have to be in EVERYTHING. #Ilovefirstgrade.

FullSizeRender (31)

And the real reason today was a good day? A student gave me this cookie. I think it’s a witch? Not sure if there is some subliminal meaning in it, but it was delicious. Probably because it was 98% sugar and 2% corn syrup and 100% adorable for her to give it to me. What other job can say that?

Blog signature

Leave a Reply

