Five for FRIDAY!

Can I get a TGIF? I’ve officially survived the first week of school in my new district and grade level and I couldn’t be happier. Yeah, I’m exhausted and my weekend highlights include a Netflix binge and takeout, but I am one happy camper. You know you’re in a great work environment when you’re fine with leaving at 6:15 AM every morning and staying until 4:00 every evening. That’s not to say, however, that I’m not crossing my fingers to maybe trim that back a teeny tiny bit, but I’m just fine and dandy with it all right now. Hopefully this steam will keep it going until May!

But now, it’s time for our weekly tradition sponsored by Doodle Bugs Teaching!

Five for Friday Header

One

Coffee. 

“That’s all I have to say about that,” as Forrest Gump would say. If you went back to school this week, or ever, you understand.

Two

FullSizeRender (25)

Actually Cooking Real Food

Despite an overwhelming desire to eat pizza, gummy worms, bagel bites, and my feelings this first week of school, I actually made dinner, as seen above. And yes, it was low-carb. I’m feeling like SuperWoman this week.

Three

IMG_4813

This Yearly Tradition

Last year on the first day of third grade, I used a different frame that I made to take a picture of each of my students and myself. I switched out part of the frame to do the same thing on the last day. It was so fun to see the changes in everyone over the course of one school year! I did the same thing this week with my firsties, then we made picture frames for them to take home.

Four

[Source]

This Devotional

I bought this book back in college after my roommate recommended it to me, and oh my goodness. It’s wonderful. The readings aren’t terribly long and lend so much perspective. I set aside 5-10 minutes every morning right before I leave for work or get my day started, and it makes such a huge difference in how the day goes. The passages truly put my mind in the correct focus and ground me.

Five

FullSizeRender (24)

And finally, snuggling with this sweet girl at the end of every day.

Questions

  • What’s your favorite thing from this week?
  • What is your go-to weeknight meal during the first week back?
  • Do you have any first week traditions in your classroom?

I’m looking forward to reading your responses in the comments section!

Blog signature

2 thoughts on “Five for FRIDAY!

  1. Julia,

    You seem to have really survived the first week of school. I look forward to following you throughout the year, MARY CARNEVALE

    Like

Leave a Reply

