Five for Friday

Five for Friday Header

New to Five for Friday? Head on over to Doodle Bugs Teaching for an explanation.

One

Before/After Photos

I know I already uploaded pictures of my classroom last night, but let’s be real. Before and after photos always put things in perspective!


Two

This Recipe

I probably make this dinner twice a month, at least. Probably more like three times a month (thrice?). Is there any kitchen appliance better than a crockpot? Well. Besides a Keurig… I think not. I threw this together yesterday morning, thought to myself on my drive home about how much I didn’t want to deal with cooking, then smelled its deliciously Tex-Mex aroma when I opened the door. Bliss. It’s also cheap and decently healthy if you want it to be!

Three

The Daily Five

I’m one of seven first-grade teachers at my school, so we’ve split up lesson planning to simplify our lives. Each person has a subject to plan, but we independently plan interventions and literacy centers depending on where the students are. Our district has a literacy model to follow, and it turns out that The Daily Five jives with it beautifully! I did not use this method last year, but I have heard so much about it in the teacher blogosphere I decided to check it out. Turns out our professional library at school had the first edition, and I will say, I’m a convert. I can’t wait to implement it with my firsties! There are A TON of resources for it online, especially at the Sisters’ website linked in the title above.

Four

THE Wedding Binder

I think I wrote on my last Five for Friday (in July…oops.) about how I was debating about getting a wedding binder or just using The Knot. I don’t know why I was ever unsure, because I am the essence of an obsessively organized pencil-and-paper person. I caved and bought The Knot Ultimate Wedding Planner & Organizer, and oh my goodness, it is wonderful. I like that it coincides well with The Knot website. Everything is already organized into tabs and it has informational sheets and worksheets to do before, during, and after making big decisions on vendors. Jeff totally loved filling out the wedding color inspiration worksheet with me… 🙂

Five

Songza

Have you heard of Songza? It’s like Pandora’s underrated sibling. You get one commercial before your music starts playing, but I think that’s only when using the app. I’ve never heard commercials while using it on the computer, which is saying something because I’ve used it for lesson planning music since my sophomore year of college. It’s not really a new discovery, but I’m listening to it while typing this up and tackling the rest of my to-do list and decided to share the love. You can browse by genre, decade, activity, and mood. My personal favorite playlist on there is Harvest Moon. I can listen to it and pretend it’s fall, which is always a win.


And there’s the week in a nutshell! I haven’t seen much of the outside world, so my five this week is sort of unexciting. I’m sure next week will be much more eventful! Here’s to the last weekend of summer before the next adventure begins! 🙂

Questions

Do you use the Daily Five? What’s your experience been with it? I’d love to hear in the comments below!

Blog signature

5 thoughts on “Five for Friday

  1. Hi Julia, you are so lucky to be starting your teaching career in a time when SO much is available just at your fingertips. I have been doing Daily 5 for 3+ years now and love it. The website is great, but it’s definitely worth it to get the book. Mine is getting dog eared! Their set up for read with someone is brilliant. I follow it to the T every year. EEKK. If you haven’t already checked it out be sure to get EPIC (audio books free for educators). I’m excited to have it for Listen to Reading. Here’s a link to my recent post about it if you want to check it out.
    http://alwaysprimary.blogspot.ca/2015/07/epic.html
    Always Primary

    Like

    • Thanks for the link! I will definitely check it out. I’m launching read to self later on this week and I’m SO excited! I’m reading the first edition book, but I’m hoping to follow up with the second to learn more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

