Five for Friday

Happy Friday, y’all! It’s my last official Friday of summer break. Next week, I have a long-term planning day with my new grade level team on Monday, then volunteering at an early registration day on Tuesday, and then new hire orientation on Wednesday and Thursday. I’m hoping to squeeze in some time in my classroom to work on my displays. I have all of my furniture arranged and everything I moved in with me organized, but I still need to do all of the fun decorating and not-so-fun binder organization.

But, it’s Friday, so there’s only one thing that means… Five for Friday Header

One

Pizza

I went out for pizza twice this week. At the same restaurant: Mellow Mushroom. Am I ashamed? Nope. I used to try to steer clear of pizzas made using bases other than tomato sauce, but I really took a leap of faith and branched out this week, ordering not one, but TWO pizzas with an olive oil base. Daring, I know. What did I choose? Mellowterranean and Thai Dye, both of which were equally amazing in their own ways. I’ll try to chill next week, but the place has also trivia, so I don’t know if I’ll prevail…

Two

Summer Reading

Am I going to have time to read anything other than 6-year-olds’ paragraphs after this week? The thought makes me misty eyed. My last book of the summer is going to be The Rumor by Elin Hilderbrand. I haven’t gotten as far into it as I would have liked, but time has really flown this week. While not mind-numbing, it’s definitely what I’d call a fluffy beach read; I don’t think I’d be too into it during any other time of year than summer. If you’re a fan of Gossip Girl, I’d say it’s similar, only with grown adults. Whatever.

Three

The Knot

Have I mentioned before that I’m an obsessive planner? As in, each item on my to-do list has its own to-do list. It’s like to-do list inception. I told myself I wouldn’t even think of wedding plans until after the first few weeks of school, but I’m literally incapable. I need to be juggling approximately 17 different causes of stress in order to function as a productive human being. So, after extensive Googling of the best wedding planning websites, apps, and binders (because I don’t actually have time to be Googling such fluffy stuff, but it’s summer, so…), I settled on The Knot. I’m sure I’ll regret saying this later, and someone please remind me when I’m sitting in a corner, crying over flower inspirations and nursing a bag of gummy worms, but I don’t think that this whole wedding planning thing is going to make me want to tear my eyeballs out like every other person I’ve spoken to who has gotten married recently. I mean, I plugged in our tentative date and budget, and I magically got an itemized checklist in chronological order, a countdown according to days, weeks, and months, and even an itemized budget. This is a list nerd’s dream.

Again, someone please remind me of this little soliloquy five months from now.

Four

This Article

WeAreTeachers shared an article this week from Chalkboard Connections about something called deep data, and it truly gives perspective during this time of year when it’s so easy to focus more on door decorations than the munchkins who are about to walk through that door. I did not keep written data about each of my students’ preferences last year, but I’m going to try it out this year. I think this will be especially insightful and grounding during the time of year when I feel my energy and patience start to slip.

Five

TpT Sitewide Back to School SALE!

Back to School Sale

On August 3-4, TeachersPayTeachers is throwing a sitewide sale to help you get ready for the upcoming school year. Everything in my store will be 20% off! To make things even easier next week, go ahead and wishlist your favorite items for easy access during the sale!

Have a lovely weekend!

Blog signature

3 thoughts on “Five for Friday

  1. Thanks for pointing me toward that article…what a great idea to really connect with the students! And yes, summer is the time for fluff reading. I have been sucked into these novels on Kindle Unlimited that I would never read at any other time of the year!

    Like

  2. Hi Julia, Glad your classroom is about ready, but sorry you start back so soon… I get out later and start back later… this year really late. I, too, read the deep data article. Knowing students in real ways is so important and they had good suggestions on how to do it. I ask parents to fill out a student card for me that isn’t an info card, but an INFO card. I happened to post it for download, completely editable, in my Five for Friday post TODAY. You might want to take a look- I find it really crucial and refer to them all year. See you around. Kathleen

    Like

  3. Don’t fear, I think wedding plan is what you make it! Yes, it did have its stressful moments but always remember why your doing it and you won’t be stressed! It is my last Friday too..yikes!! Enjoy your weekend! 🙂
    -Kristen
    Moore to Learn

    Like

Leave a Reply

