Half Marathon

So, as I mentioned in my Five for Friday post, I am a new runner. One night, on a rush of runner’s euphoria, I decided to run the Thanksgiving Day Atlanta Half Marathon. Running a half marathon in memory of my Daddy has been on my bucket list for some time. This August will mark the tenth year of his passing, so I can’t think of a better time for me to tackle this goal. My training will start in August, and I will also begin fundraising then–my other reason for running 13.1! I’ll be working to raise money for the Center for Thoracic Cancers at Massachusetts General Hospital, which provided Daddy with amazing care and support during his struggle with esophageal cancer. I promise there will be more to come in the next few months about this bittersweet journey!

I’ll be running the Peachtree Road Race on Saturday in Atlanta, which is a 10K. I’ll have about seven weeks between this race and when I will begin training for the half, so in the meantime, I’ve come up with a plan to build a solid training base and keep me from turning into too much of a couch potato. 😉 I came up with this plan loosely using an article I found on Runner’s World (seriously, they are a beginning runner’s best friend).

If you’re interested in my plan, here it is!

Leave a Reply

