One Month and Counting (Down)

Oh hey, there! I’ve created this blog to keep my family, friends, and students (hey guys!) updated while I participate in Georgia Southern University’s International Study Opportunity (ISO). This program will send me to Sheffield, England with eleven other student teachers for four weeks. The fifth week will be free for us to travel wherever! 

I created this blog a few months ago, before I began any planning for the trip. However, here I am less than a month out! The flights have been booked, and we’re now in the process of planning our weekend travel and our extended travel week. My brain has been swimming with a bucket list for each city or country I plan to visit, so I figured what better way to kick off my blog than with an organized bucket list?! 


The way the trip will work is that I will be in Sheffield from March 15 to April 11. On the weekends, we will be able to travel within the continental United Kingdom. From April 11-16, we will be permitted to travel elsewhere. Finally, I will return home to the U.S. on April 17. After a lot of thought and hearing from friends that have studied abroad, I’ve narrowed my ideal weekend travel cities to London, England; Edinburgh, Scotland; and Cardiff, Wales. During the week of extended travel, I’m planning on traveling to Dublin, Rome, and possibly Venice. Eek! It is so crazy to talk about these places and know that in just a few weeks, I will actually BE there. I have been dreaming about ISO since I changed my major to Early Childhood Education, and I never thought I would be selected for it. However, here I am! Without further ado, my bucket list (sure to change as the time gets shorter)…


London, England


  • The London Eye
  • Abbey Road
  • Big Ben
  • Buckingham Palace and a tea party with Kate
  • London Bridge
  • Tower of London
  • Harrods
  • Notting Hill
  • King’s Cross and Platform 9 3/4

Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Edinburgh Castle
  • Arthur’s Seat
  • Royal Mile
  • Grassmarket

Cardiff, Wales
  • Cardiff Castle
  • St. Fagans National History Museum
  • Cardiff Bay
  • Llandaff Cathedral
  • Vale of Glamorgan

Dublin, Ireland
  • Countryside tour
  • Temple Bar (downtown Dublin) 

Rome, Italy
  • Vespa tour!
  • Vatican/Sistine Chapel 
  • Colosseum
  • Pantheon
  • Catacombs

Whew! It is sure to be a crazy month! What do you think of the bucket list? Do you have any other must-see/do things? Let me know!

T-24 days! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

